Fantasy Football Community Newsletter

Lateriser’ Wildcard draft and Looking Ahead to Gameweek 35

Fantasy Football Community

2023/24

FFC continues in its quest to deliver you content from across the board. From Serie A Fantasy and Bundesliga Fantasy to UCL Fantasy and MLS Fantasy we cover it all.

Here our main focus is on Fantasy Premier League Gameweek 35!

We start today with an exclusive piece from highly rated expert Lateriser who talks through his Wildcard Team Reveal Draft for Gameweek 35.

Newsletter exclusive: Lateriser’ Wildcard Team Reveal Exclusive

I’m on a Wildcard this week, like a lot of FPL managers, but instead of going into detail with my picks, I’ll talk a little bit about my process in case that helps you.


WILDCARD: INFO BEFORE IDEAS

I’ve been accumulating a fair amount of information in the last few days but I only sat down to tinker on Wednesday night. That is generally how I like to work, instead of spending time on the FPL site working through various permutations and combinations. If you’re reading, watching highlights and consuming content, you’re sort of ‘beautiful minding’ decisions in your head anyway. Drafting then generally becomes a lot easier once you’ve consumed enough information.

What also happens when you draft too much on a Wildcard is that you tend to get extremely confused. You’ve considered a lot more picks than you should have without processing the correct amount of information.

It might become difficult to become a little objective when you’re constantly tinkering because you sometimes become irrationally attached to a pick or two, despite new information presenting itself during the course of the week.

And last but not least, the ‘xRegret’ is off the roof and just makes the outcome and the football-watching experience excruciating. What happens more often than not is you’ll have probably considered a bigger pool of players who will invariably haul and then you’re almost always thinking how close you were to getting said player in your team.

AVOIDING THE ‘DOUBLE VISION’

Another thing I consider crucial is not having tunnel vision and focusing only on Double Gameweek 37 when building your team.

With just four Gameweeks left, each one is significant. See if there’s scope for you to hunt for a haul or two in Gameweek 35/36/38 when drafting your team.

With a double upcoming, don’t be too scared of a hit or two. Don’t be too afraid to book transfers because the ceiling of potential hauls is a lot higher than losing four points on a hit, in my opinion. The ‘right’ players to have from the teams doubling in Gameweek 37 could potentially change by the time it arrives and having a flexible squad will help you adjust to the new information in case it presents itself.

KEEPING MONEY BACK FOR FLEXIBILITY

A point that Simon March made in his excellent article really stood out to me. He mentioned keeping £1.5m in the bank to offer flexibility for the Bench Boost. It was a nice bit of inspiration for me and keeping that in mind, I’ve exaggerated it and kept £11.5m in the bank in my first draft! I’m still quite unsure of Erling Haaland’s (£14.2m) fitness and that is the primary reason why I have money left over. If he’s declared fit for Gameweek 35, I’ll let go of Rasmus Hojlund (£7.0m).

The other bits of information I’m waiting to hear about are whether Richarlisom (£6.8m) is going to be fit or not, Pedro Porro’s (£5.8m) fitness and how Newcastle United use Callum Wilson (£7.8m). The idea behind this draft is that all of the 15 players either have a good fixture or a double in Gameweek 37. So, in case I don’t end up selling Rayan Ait-Nouri (£4.8m) for a Double Gameweeker in Gameweek 37 to fix another fire, I am happy to Bench Boost him for a home game against Crystal Palace anyway.

The Ait-Nouri pick follows the ‘25% principal’: every remaining Gameweek being a significant 25% of the season. I like his match-up against Luton Town in Gameweek 35 and don’t expect many to go there as a pick. The thinking is similar for Hojlund, as well. If we get information that the presence of Wilson affects Alexander Isak’s (£8.1m) minutes more than we perceive (very unlikely I know), I can hold Hojlund and sell Isak for Haaland instead.

I’m also very much contemplating throwing in Trent Alexander-Arnold (£8.4m) or Ben White (£6.0m) as a defensive punt with a much higher upside than Harry Maguire (£4.2m) or Ait-Nouri.

WILDCARD DRAFTS

The idea is to start strong on the Wildcard by getting six players (and as few defenders as possible) from Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur in Gameweek 36.

I’m pretty confident of the Newcastle United picks, who have a great fixture anyway. Then it was about filling the rest with a fling or two.

These are obviously very early days in the Wildcard process and there’s still more football to be played on Thursday and information to be processed.

As an example of the constantly changing landscape, above are my Wildcard drafts before and after Wednesday’s fixtures.

I feel like with Liverpool very likely out of the title race, both Manchester City and Arsenal will be smelling blood and chomping at the bit to stamp their authority. I just woke up with the ‘cometh the hour, cometh the man’ thought in the morning – which invariably means Kevin De Bruyne (£10.4m) finds his way into my draft. He always tends to do well during the end of the season/crunch time and with City’s schedule not that bad, I think I want to go there.

One of him or Foden (likely Foden) will be a second Tottenham Hotspur midfielder and I’ll make the transfer after if need be. I currently have £0.4m in the bank with the draft. If I could afford it, I would like an Arsenal defender in there (especially White as a punt) but my team value has the problems it does, which is why I can’t go there as things stand.

I really wish I could include Kai Havertz (£7.4m) as well as I am expecting big things from the Arsenal attack but no space at the inn. So far. He’s definitely in my thoughts.

That is where I am at the moment (Thursday morning) and naturally, my thoughts will evolve during the course of the next two days.

My fellow Pro Pundits Zoph and Pras went through Pras’ Wildcard draft if you want to check that out, and we will be podding again on Thursday evening as well.

Until next time, good luck with your Wildcard and happy tinkering!

Gameweek 35 Top Picks

Below we picked out all of the best options in each position for the round ahead.

Expert Wildcard Q & A

Our expert answered some of the most asked questions around the Gameweek 35 Wildcard, whilst also revealing his draft.

Best Bench Boost Team for Gameweek 37

We also took a look at the best bench boost team for Gameweek 37. Planning for it now could be vital, take a look!

Predicted Player Points for Gameweek 35

We take a look at the top 10 predicted player points for Gameweek 35 here.

Head over to Fantasy Football Community for everything else you need for a green arrow.

Fantasy Football Community Podcast