Fantasy Football Community Newsletter

Gameweek 5 Deadline incoming!

Fantasy Football Community

2023/24

The Gameweek 5 deadline is fast approaching.

Managers need to have locked in their FPL Teams ahead of the 11:00am deadline on Saturday 16th of September. 90 minutes before Wolves face Liverpool in the first fixture of the weekend.

Still undecided? We are here to help!

Newsletter exclusive:

Sam (@FPLFamily) shares her thoughts on investing in Son Heung-min

After playing in the 9 in Gameweek 4 Son has become an object of affection once more. Gameweeks 1-3 saw Son playing in a very wide position as part of Postecoglou’s new attacking Spurs side. This was working well for the Lily Whites with Spurs securing two wins and a draw in the opening three fixtures. However, from an FPL perspective it made Son a non option.

The change in his position is clearly shown in the Fantasy Football Scout Heatmaps.

Between Gameweek’s 1 and 3 Son had registered just 8 FPL points. However, the positional change Gameweek 4 saw him return a 20 point haul. His expected goals (xG) also rose from 0.28 from in the opening three matches to 1.12 in Gameweek 4.

This goes a long way to explaining why Son is the most transferred in player ahead of the Gameweek 5 deadline. At time of writing over 577,000 have transferred in the Spurs midfielder in preparation for his Gameweek 5 match at home to Sheffield United.

However will Postecoglou deploy Son in the number 9 again?

I think he will.

There are a number of factors to consider here however.

The first is Richarlison.

The Spurs’ man has struggled in recent weeks and this continued on international duty. He had two goals ruled out for off side and was seen crying on the bench after being substituted. After the game he said:

‘I went through a turbulent time in the last five months off the pitch. Now things are fine at home. People who only had an eye on my money are no longer close to me. Now things will start to flow. I'm sure I'll get on a good run at Tottenham and make things happen again.

That sad moment (in which he cried at being substituted for Brazil against Bolivia) wasn't even because I played poorly, in my opinion. I didn't put in a bad display in Belém. It was more of an outburst about the things that were happening off the pitch, which got out of control not as far as I'm concerned, but involving people who were close to me.

I'm going to go back to England, seek psychological help from a psychologist to work on my mind. That's what it's about, coming back stronger. I believe I will be in the next (Brazil squad), I will work for that.

It's about getting into good form at Tottenham. I'm going to sit down and talk to them this week. I need to have a good run, get my match rhythm and get here in good shape.’

With Richarlison wanting some additional support I wouldn’t be surprised to see Postecoglou give him some additional time to recover from the international break. I expect him to come off the bench on Saturday and be lifted by the atmosphere in the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium. Long term however, I would expect to see Richarlison back in the Starting XI and this would impact Son’s starting position.

Another consideration is the arrival of Brennan Johnson at Spurs. Johnson arrived on Deadline Day and almost immediately went off on international duty with Wales. We don’t yet know where Johnson will be playing in the Spurs team or how Postecoglou plans to use his newest signing.

Son I think will start in the number 9 against Sheffield United in Gameweek 5. I wouldn’t be surprised to see him there in the two huge matches Spurs have against Arsenal and Liverpool in Gameweeks 6 and 7 too if he performs well from there in Gameweek 5, because he is trusted to lead the team and the line by the new manager. However, there should be a note of caution when managers are signing Son. If he finds himself back on the wing, his appeal as an FPL asset immediately declines and that’s something that managers must be mindful of.

Best Captain

For the second time this season there are over candidates for the captains arm band. Here we look at the best captains for Gameweek 5.

Differentials

Want a differential pick?!

Differentials are players who are owned by under 10% of the game. Here we asked some FPL experts for their best differentials for Gameweek 5.

Projected Points

The link up between Fantasy Football Scout and Plan FPL is excellent for showing managers the projected points for the gameweek. We take a look at who is projected to score well in the upcoming week.

Head over to Fantasy Football Community for everything else you need for a green arrow this weekend.

Fantasy Football Community Podcast