Fantasy Football Community Newsletter

AFCON Fantasy Gameweek 7 and Looking Ahead to FPL Gameweek 24

Fantasy Football Community

2023/24

FFC continues in its quest to deliver you content from across the board. From Asia Cup Fantasy and AFCON Fantasy to FPL and Serie A Fantasy, we cover it all!

For our exclusive this week we have brought in content creator @FPLReaction to reflect on his AFCON Fantasy campaign so far. He also reveals his thoughts on players to target for the final round.

We will also be looking ahead to the new round of FPL with a range of different articles we have published throughout the week.

Newsletter exclusive:

@FPLReaction AFCON season & Gameweek 7 Plans

Hey Guys!

How good has this AFCON been?! It is one of my favourite tournaments and fantasy games for a reason and we have seen why. It’s sad that we are here, in the final round, but I really need to try something special in the final round.

Above was how I ended Gameweek 6. I finished with 48 points overall and dropped from 570th to 590th. I expected this kind of round to be honest. I knew that I was playing it safe last week which would mean either a small gain or a small drop and it was the latter that came to be.

I knew that the final week, the round ahead, would be the round I take big risks. I am currently eight points off the top 1% (top 300) and 20 points off the top 100 managers. Now, the top 1% is a realistic target and I could opt for the that which would mean less risk or I could go for the top 100 which means more risk. So to achieve either of these targets lets take a look at what we can do.

This is how I am currently set-up. To access the top 1% I think all I have to do is captain a player that isn’t Victor Osimhen which could be damaging if it goes wrong. A safer route to the top 1% could be as simple as backing a double defence in one of Congo, Ivory Coast or South Africa. So one of those two scenarios are very likely to happen.

If I wanted to try and go for the top 100 then I would need something massive. It would mean having to back both a differential captaincy option and selecting differential defensive double ups. I am yet to decide which route I want to take yet but either way I will be taking a big risk, or at least it feels like.

In terms of my opinion on the games I don’t think Nigeria or Ivory Coast keep a clean sheet in their fixture. Both look very efficient offensively and I think the hosts will have their performance enhanced by the crowd. I could easily see both teams going toe-to-toe offensively.

I also think we could see lots of goals in the South Africa and Congo match. Both will enjoy the game much more with less pressure and I also think both sides could just go for it and drop the defensive tactics they have been playing with for most of the competition.

So, good luck for the new round. I will drop a small review piece in the next newsletter to see if any of my risk pays off!

Good luck for the new round!

Gameweek 24 Top Picks

Here we look at all of the top picks in each position for Gameweek 24.

Who is the Best Captain for Gameweek 24

We look at the candidates and conclude who the best captain is for Gameweek 24 here:

Projected Points for Gameweek 24

Using the new Fantasy Football Scout Members Area we picked out the top 10 players predicted to get the most points this week.

What to Expect in Gameweek 24

We had a look at head-to-head data and check out what to expect from the new round ahead.

Head over to Fantasy Football Community for everything else you need for a green arrow.

Fantasy Football Community Podcast